Do Now – How to enable sync

See below for how to enable syncing with Google tasks (which will also sync to every device that has sync enabled).
  • From Do Now's settings (or you from your phone's settings) go to your account management page

    From Do Now's settings (or you from your phone's settings) go to your account management page

  • Select one of your Google accounts and check 'Sync Do Now Tasks'

    Select one of your Google accounts and check 'Sync Do Now Tasks'

  • If you've never enabled syncing for Do Now before, you'll be shown an error and a notification to give Do Now access to manage your Google Tasks. Open the notification and click 'Ok'

    If you've never enabled syncing for Do Now before, you'll be shown an error and a notification to give Do Now access to manage your Google Tasks. Open the notification and click 'Ok'

  • After you give permission, the permission error might still be indicated. Just uncheck then check again to enable syncing or it will fix itself on the next syncing interval.

    After you give permission, the permission error might still be indicated. Just uncheck then check again to enable syncing or it will fix itself on the next syncing interval.

  • Since you can sync tasks for multiple accounts, there's a way to choose which one to display. Back in Do Now settings, choose which account to display - or none if you want to see tasks on the device not associated with any Google accounts.

    Since you can sync tasks for multiple accounts, there's a way to choose which one to display. Back in Do Now settings, choose which account to display - or none if you want to see tasks on the device not associated with any Google accounts.

  • Select your newly synced account. Any new tasks created in Do Now will be associated and  if sync is enabled then they will be synced with this account. Even if you disabled sync for this account in the future,  you can still display tasks that were created under it.

    Select your newly synced account. Any new tasks created in Do Now will be associated and if sync is enabled then they will be synced with this account. Even if you disabled sync for this account in the future, you can still display tasks that were created under it.

  • (Optionally) If you want any tasks that were created before you enabled sync or were created while you had 'None' chosen as the display account to use to now be associated with the chosen account, you will have the option to associate them when selecting the display account.

    (Optionally) If you want any tasks that were created before you enabled sync or were created while you had 'None' chosen as the display account to use to now be associated with the chosen account, you will have the option to associate them when selecting the display account.

  • The changes you make in Do Now will be synced every minute while changes from Google tasks will be checked every 30 minutes. This is to conserve battery power, data, and not exceed Google's API quota. In the future there will be options to customize this schedule.

    The changes you make in Do Now will be synced every minute while changes from Google tasks will be checked every 30 minutes. This is to conserve battery power, data, and not exceed Google's API quota. In the future there will be options to customize this schedule.

2 comments

  1. Is there a way to import tasks from Gtasks? I very often create tasks from gmail messages, I don’t want to have to create tasks in Do Now for those items.

    1. Since GTasks syncs with Google Tasks then those tasks will also be synced to Do Now as long as you have the same account enabled for syncing for Do Now. It’ll work the other way around too as Google Tasks acts as the middle man.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *